P1010615Welcome to Julia’s website! Find out all about her and her books…

Drumbeats - Kindle versionDrumbeats, the first of the trilogy

The ebook version from Endeavour Press, with a different cover from the paperback edition, is here.

It’s 1965 and feisty 18 year old Jess flees her strict religious background in England to find herself in Ghana, West Africa. She finds danger, civil war and unexpected romance, but why do the drumbeats disturb her dreams?

‘Enchantingly told’ – The Daily Mail


Drumbeats - Paperback‘Julia Ibbotson’s descriptions of Ghana instantly transport the reader there and one could often feel the searing heat of the country burning right off the pages off the book’ – Amazon Review

‘Nicely paced, enough romance , page turning – evocative of the 60’s for those of us that remember it! I look forward to the sequel, and then the romance can hopefully continue.’ – Amazon Review

The original paperback edition is also still available from Amazon.


Find out more about the Drumbeats Trilogy…

The trilogy continues with Jess’s story in Walking in the Rain and Finding Jess.

Walking in the RainWalking in the Rain, the second in the Drumbeats trilogy, is available in ebook and paperback editions from Amazon (Endeavour Press).

Jess marries the guy of her dreams … but is he the man she thought he was? And is her world about to shatter around her?

‘A really great read and I look forward to the next installment in the story.’ – Amazon Review

‘A book filled with many issues that are not readily addressed even in our modern society. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and found I could not put it down.’ – Amazon Review

Find out more about the Drumbeats Trilogy…

The final book in Jess’s story, Finding Jess, will be published later in 2017.

Julia has also published a children’s novel called S.C.A.R.S (find out later what that stands for!).

This book is about a time-shift journey of discovery of parallel or quilted universes. Worlds collide when Gavin, having a hard time at home and at school, slips through a tear in the universe to find another, fantasy medieval world.

Will the different worlds affect each other for good or for bad? Will Gavin ever beat the bullies or find his dad?

‘This is a tale for boys, filled with battle, dressed in armor, riding horses and the smell of adventure in every breath… A tale so vivid and real that I could not put the book down once I started reading it.’ – Amazon Review

‘A wonderful book that I loved reading and can’t wait to tell all my friends about.’ – 11 year old’s Amazon Review

Find out more about SCARS…


Julia’s latest novel, A Shape on the Air, an early medieval (Dark Ages) time-slip story of two women 1500 years apart, has been contracted to Endeavour Press and will be out in the summer 2017!

How did it all start?

Julia is the award-winning author of The Old Rectory: Escape to a Country Kitchen, first published to acclaim in the USA and now to be re-launched by her new English publisher in the UK, Endeavour Press (summer 2017).

It’s the story of her renovation of a Victorian rectory in the heart of the English countryside. She has combined memoir, history, research, story and recipes in this book, which has won a number of international book festivals in the biography category, gained 5 star reviews on Amazon, and has been widely featured in the media.


Find out more about The Old Rectory…

Julia has been writing creatively all her life but her day jobs to pay the mortgage have been as a school teacher and latterly a university academic after gaining her PhD.

Having published many academic texts and papers, she returned to creative writing, her first love, when she was persuaded to write the story of the renovation of her Victorian rectory in The Old Rectory.

Find out more about Julia…